top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyan Brooks

Listening to sound alone week 7

This week I got my sound scape ready for the peer crit which was the first time that people had a good chance to tell me what the thought of my soundscape. To do this I had to go back to the start and go through with a fine tooth come fixing any problems that were missed the first-time round. After this process was done I found that the mix was slightly off from where I wanted so I had to bring everything down except the master fader. I then brought thing up slowly pay close attention to the levels making sure that the it does not clip but it was still doing this so I had to work on the clip gains bring the ones that were too loud down re-mixing them back into the final mixing.

After doing this I found out that one of my recording had a few frequencies that were too powerful so I had to use EQ to isolate the frequencies and reduce them. Once I had done this the last remaining track that were refusing to sit nicely in the mix slotted into their position in the mix much better.

After the Peer crit I got very valuable feedback which made me think of how I can improve this soundscape in the future by adding a ticking sound between each city ambiance to help convey the passage of time to the listener.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Listening to sound alone week 6

This week I got the final city ambiance placed into the Pro Tools session this consist of the water front sound as well as sound effects of waves and rocks falling in to the water. There were a few cl

Listening to sound alone week 5

This week I got all of the sound that recorded from the field recording trip. I auditioned the sound to pick the best ones that fit into a modern-day city ambiance. I came across the problems of the s

Listening to sound alone week 4

This week I final decided on what music that I would pick for this soundscape which was Travis A. King Beautiful Mind this sound gives the soundscape the peaceful feeling that I wanted to portray to t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page