top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyan Brooks

Sound for the Moving Image year 4 weekly journal

Week 4

This week was not my most productive as I still have not been able to get Pro-Tools working from home so I have not done any of the practical work for my TWERK project but I have got a plan for when I can do the practical, with a list of sounds and music that I will use with in the clip from Freesound, Sound Snap and Epidemic sound. I still need to create the script and download the clip to give to the voice performers so they can record their parts.

We were introduced to the music for picture project witch I am not looking forward to as I have not musical talent but luckily it is a project is done in pairs. I am paired with Rory which will be fun as a I have not had the chance to work with Rory as much as I would like. The videos that they have given us, I have watched them both and I can’t say that I think there any good but I do think that I can do a good job with the sound design but again the score is where I fall short as I have never been particularly good writing music for anything.

The DH&T research is moving along nicely but I still need to make progress on the presentation that is next week. I at least know what I am doing and what the 5000-word extended essay will be at the end of the year. I am still on the lookout or academic writings to support what I am writing about.

Weekly game review


Middle Earth Shadow of Mordor


“Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor is an open world action-adventure video game developed by Monolith Productions and published by Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment. The game was released for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One in September 2014 and PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 in November 2014. An original non-canon story set in the legendarium created by J. R. R. Tolkien, the game takes place between the events of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings film trilogies. The player controls Talion, a Ranger who bonds with the wraith of the Elf Lord Celebrimbor, as the two set out to avenge the deaths of their loved ones. Players can engage in melee combat, and use wraith abilities to fight and manipulate enemies. The game introduces the Nemesis System, which allows the artificial intelligence of non-playable characters to remember their prior actions against the game's protagonist and react accordingly.”


Rating


Game-play 7/10

Story 9/10

Controls 9/10

Re-playability 8/10

The game is a very enjoyable venture in to the world Tolkien’s Lord of The Rings and a good introduction to the world if you do not what to sit through the many hours of books and films without some sort of intro to the massive universe, well worth picking it up as the game has been out for a while now picking it up will not be that expensive for any of the consoles that it is available on.







3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sound for the Moving Image year 4 weekly journal

Week 2 This week we continued to be introduced to the new classes that we project in like the work, special audio. Also, this week I got a more conclusive idea what I am going to do for the work which

Sound for the Moving Image year 4 weekly journal

Week 1 This week was the first week of the new term. This was also the start of the learning from home via Zoom calls this makes the learning more difficult because I now have to contend with loud fam

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page