top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyan Brooks

Noise making session


Adam task us to bring in various noise makers so I decided to bring in a pair of claves, I also brought an egg shaker and a knife sharpener called a steel these would give me a large array of different sound of various intensity. The only thing was that the noisemakers should not be any instruments as if they where we would have to play them in an interesting way like yelling into the inner part of a guitar. Once at the noise making session Adam asked us to get in to groups of three’s and fours so that he him self could conduct us a different instrument groups. The first set of tasks where held in the large studio 1 with its high ceiling and blank walls. The first task we created sound that where that where as quiet as possible as we were playing in groups Adam had each group play one after another making our sound into cords. This allowed us to create some form of song from the sound we mad. The second task and the third task where mostly the same however the sound form the second task where very loud and the third being both. The fourth task we again varied the volume of our sound but we split out of our groups to different parts of the room to see the sense of scale we can get from all of our sounds can be in a large space like studio one I personally was in the back right of the room and standing on a table slamming my claves together and lightly tapping them we created a pretty good melody with the noises. We then moved to the Foley studio to see if the sounds are different, in the Foley studio I can agree that the sound where more focus in the more acoustically treated room this is where things get interesting as we started using the our noise makers so I decided to use my claves for this part witch sounded more muted than they did in studio. We stood in a line around the room, our instruments where played one after another I was at the start of the line with a nice heavy smack from my claves but because of the room acoustics they where very muted but the line recording came out OK the timing was quite bad but the overall experience was fun to be involved in. The last thing that we did with I found the most fun was the recording that we made of us just using our voices this was fun because Adam single out a few people but they where to shy so Ruari and Ashley picked the slack. I found this very funny.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sound for the Moving Image year 4 weekly journal

Week 2 This week we continued to be introduced to the new classes that we project in like the work, special audio. Also, this week I got a more conclusive idea what I am going to do for the work which

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page